A love of Beethoven was one of the things Arb and I bonded over, early in our relationship.  Going on a road trip in the mountains together, we brought along all nine symphonies, and the combination of gorgeous music, gorgeous scenery, and of course, plenty of New Relationship Energy, made for an almost transcendent experience.

Here’s a very unusual, and really well done take on the first movement of Beethoven’s 5th Symphony.  I wasn’t expecting to like it, but I really do.  It’s fresh and full of energy and even though it’s different, the feel of the original is there.  And the kid’s enthusiasm is just infectious.

I used to have a fantasy, before I knew how hard composing actually is, of writing a Rachmaninoff-style virtuosic concerto for electric guitar and full symphony orchestra.  I think this just goes to show, somebody needs to do it.