A new choral season has begun and this year, for me,  it will be starting with Fauré’s Automne.

This is a smooth and cool piece.  Written in 12/8 this tune has a more than a few rhythmical curve-balls written into the libretto.  Good times.

 

French Text

Automne au ciel brumeux, aux horizons navrants.
Aux rapides couchants, aux aurores pâlies,
Je regarde couler, comme l’eau du torrent,
Tes jours faits de mélancolie.

Sur l’aile des regrets mes esprits emportés,
-Comme s’il se pouvait que notre âge renaisse!-
Parcourent, en rêvant, les coteaux enchantés,
Où jadis sourit ma jeunesse!

Je sens, au clair soleil du souvenir vainqueur,
Refleurir en bouquet les roses déliées,
Et monter à mes yeux des larmes, qu’en mon cœur,
Mes vingt ans avaient oubliées!

English Text:

 Autumn, time of misty skies and heart-breaking horizons,
 of rapid sunsets and pale dawns,
 I watch your melancholy days
        flow past like a torrent.
 
 My thoughts borne off on the wings of regret
 (as if our time could ever be relived!)
 dreamingly wander the enchanted slopes
        where my youth once used to smile.
 
 In the bright sunlight of triumphant memory
 I feel the scattered roses reblooming in bouquets;
 and tears well up in my eyes, tears which my heart
        at twenty had already forgotten!