On Sunday mornings, I get up shortly after Arb leaves for work, and move from the cozy, snuggly bed to the equally snuggly sofa.  I make a cup of coffee and listen to Sunday Breakfast on CKUA, and half-doze under at least one cat (depending on Fiona and V’s current level of detente).  This Sunday, as I faded in and out of consciousness, I heard something familiar and yet not.  “This sounds like Piazzolla,” I thought, “but I don’t recognize it.”  Turns out I was right, it was Piazzolla, and the reason I didn’t recognize it was that I’d never heard this composition arranged for violin and harp.  Here, have a listen:

Astor Piazzolla is one of my favourite composers (though if I’m going to actually dance tango I prefer Gardel and Pugliese’s older styles).  Piazzolla grew up playing and composing tango music, but was also deeply interested in jazz and classical music and studied classical composition with Alberto Ginastera and Nadia Boulanger.  At first he tried to keep his classical and tango work separate, but his true genius lay in bringing his classical and jazz sensibilities to his tango compositions.

