textingA survey of Ontario high school students reveals more than one-third of all licensed drivers in Grades 10 to 12 admit to having texted while driving.

That percentage increases to 46 per cent of licensed students in Grade 12. 

Approximately 108,000 adolescent drivers surveyed said they have texted while driving at least once in the past year, according to the 2013 Ontario Student Drug Use and Health Survey (OSDUHS), a biannual study conducted for the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH).

“We asked about texting while driving because research shows that this is a very hazardous behaviour,” said CAMH senior scientist Dr. Robert Mann. “We were surprised to find that so many young people are taking this risk.”

I’ll admit it, I’m a low grade hyper-klicker. I try as much as I can to extend the time between trips to the gas station. That means gradual acceleration and coasting toward red lights along with the basics, of course, correct tire pressure, minimal extra weight in vehicle etc.

One of the byproducts of this style of driving is that I tend to use large buffer zones in traffic so I can react to events in measured way, including avoiding people doing stupid things on the road.

Having that extra time while driving has saved my bacon more than once, that extra time and distance is invaluable in keeping me and those around me safe.

Enter texting – it splits your attention and reduces your ability to react while driving. Never a good thing, and with solid evidence detailing the deleterious effects of texting while driving, legistlation is the only option to stop this dangerous and costly behaviour.

 

[Source:cbc.ca]