The entire article is available on Alternet.org, but I found this section in particular very moving.

“Even when I was on the job, I was always asking, what can I do to prevent these guys before they get there? I used to bring kids down from schools. I would allow the kids to sit in the chair and explain that I want to see kids get an education and remove themselves from violence or you’ll end up here. I know it helped. I used to get letters. They would write back saying thank you for steering them in the right direction. I also never understood why we would spend money on the death penalty instead of spending money to try to prevent these people from getting in the system in the first place.”

How do you impress upon people the idea that social spending up front – welfare, schools, healthcare – is cheaper than the alternative.? The insurance industry, the police and prison systems are all significantly less cost effective than doing the work up front and taking care of people before the problems start.  But no, that’s the welfare state, that’s coddling the poor that is denying them personal responsibility.

We certainly, cannot undertake programs that well help people before they enter the systems of punishment in our society.  It only makes sense and is cost effective…