It’s a sad day friends. I was all primed to deliver a hilarious disservice, mocking some religious lunacy that rivals e-meters, magic underwear, and sin-absorbing chickens. As I researched further, however, the humour faded rapidly to be replaced with revulsion and dismay. It all started earlier this week when I came upon this article. Teen exorcists with karate black-belts “kicking some demon butt” (yes, that’s an actual quote) across America are going to fight Satan in the UK. The article promised an hour long program about it later in the week on BBC Three, so I went to the BBC website for the show. It turns out only UK residents are allowed to watch it online, but the site did have three short clips for me to check out.  This one showing the young ladies sharing their thoughts on Harry Potter is particularly revealing.

That is some kind of ridiculous, but my desire to mock was already quickly falling away. They are too young and too earnest. They seemed like they could be alumni from the hideous Jesus Camp. With apprehension, I tried to locate the program elsewhere on the web where I might view it. I couldn’t find the BBC program, but instead I found another documentary released a month ago. This one followed the exorcising trio to the Ukraine. Brace yourselves, ‘Disturbing Content’ doesn’t begin to cover it.


The level of creepy evil housed in that Reverend Bob is off the charts. He’s terrifying. I feel bad for those young women he’s brainwashed so he can use them for his personal gain. I feel much worse for the audiences they exploit . Most of all, I feel an overwhelming repugnance and  disgust for Bob Larson.